Countdown begins!

Just NINE days! That is all that is left standing between me and my semester abroad! I have already begun the packing process, making lists so that I am sure not to forget anything. Applying and preparing to study abroad has been one of the most interesting experiences of my life. It has allowed me to get to know myself and see how I react to the idea of living and studying for a semester in a different country. I remember when I first applied and how much time I spent going over my personal essay, how I waited for the phone call to see if I would get to study at Oxford, and then how ecstatic I was when Butler told me I had been accepted! Now I am only a short time away from the day that I actually get to leave. My travel day will take me out of the St. Louis are to Newark Int. airport and then from there to London! I am about to embark on an adventure I am quite sure will forever change my life. I am excited, nervous, and thrilled at all of the new things I will encounter, the ways that I will change, and all of the people I will meet. Studying abroad really is an opportunity to step out and do something positively life changing… NINE DAYS!!!!!

*My next post I shall be writing to you from England! :)

“A journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step.” ~ Lao Tzu

About rkscher

Hello Everyone! I am a senior at McKendree University studying abroad this fall semester at Oxford University, St. Edmund Hall. My major is Psychology and I have a minor in Spanish. I strongly believe studying abroad at Oxford University will serve to transform my thinking and challenge me to further grow as an individual because of the cultural and academic differences. As St. Augustine so intuitively stated, “the world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Countdown begins!

  1. Mike Embrich says:

    I’m so excited for you and can’t wait to see the pics and read about your stories on your blog!

Leave a Reply

